Located just steps from the cottages, Burntcoat Head on the Bay of Fundy is renowned for its tides that can change by over 53 feet in just 6 hours. Setting the Guinness World Book of Records in 1975 and receiving a designation as one of the Seven Natural Wonders of North America in 2014, you’ll be awed by a visit to the Park. Historic lighthouse, interpretative displays, ocean floor exploration, and picnic park.
With its observation deck overlooking the Shubenacadie River, the Centre provides the best tidal bore viewing in all of Nova Scotia. Guides offer interpretative talks as you watch as the Bay of Fundy waters roll in and change the course of the river. The site has wildlife trails and is a designated Ducks Unlimited site.
Try your luck at striped bass fishing on the Bay of Fundy. This tidal fishing season is open all year round! There is a bag limit of one per day with a minimum length of 68cm (26.8 Inches), but no fishing license is required.
Fundy Tidal Bore Adventures offer professionally guided tidal bore rafting experiences along the Shubenacadie River from May to September with short (2 hr.) or long (4 hr.) trips. Mud-sliding is included as well as post-trip snacks and refreshments. It’s a very popular experience and great fun for all ages!
The Links at Penn Hills is located in nearby Shubenacadie. This four-star level 18-hole Championship golf course designed by Les Ferber is set amidst rolling hills, wooded vistas and tidal dyke lands. The property has complete practice facilities, golf lessons, licensed dining and pro shop.
Minas View is a 9-hole course with some of the most spectacular views in Nova Scotia. Every fairway offers a great view of the Bay of Fundy with the shores of Parsborro and Blomidon in the distance. This relatively short course with 3- and 4-par holes offers easy walking on slightly rolling hills, and is suitable for all ages and skill levels.
Artistic wood turner, Ben McLellan, operates his shop and studio in the historic village of Maitland. Inklings in Wood is open to the public to see the process of woodturning from conception to finish.
An historic two room schoolhouse turned community-owned gallery that showcases the work of Nova Scotian artists. Offering paintings in oil, watercolour, acrylic and pastel; mixed media work; photography; wood turning; jewelry; glass; pottery; metal and more. Sunday lunches in the summer months.
From his parlour window, William D. Lawrence would have watched his bustling shipbuilding yard on the shores of Cobequid Bay. The largest full-rigged ship in Canada, the William D Lawrence, was built and launched here in 1874. Explore his bright Victorian home and its 23 rooms, featuring photographs, exhibits and the Lawrence family’s heirlooms. Discover the era of shipbuilding and hear tales of the Golden Age of Sail in Maitland – Nova Scotia’s first designated Heritage Conservation District.
This lighthouse in Walton is the only original lighthouse remaining in Hants County. Constructed in 1873, it is a typical example of the many square, wooden lighthouses built around Atlantic Canada during the late 1800’s. The site has walking trails, a look off, and a gift shop.